April Update

Hello Readers!

April will be a busy month for the club. The club held a meeting recently on April 14th. I established two key events we are attending.

  1. Bake Sale at Edge of the Woods: April 23rd, from 10am to 2pm
  2. DRE @ Cheshire Half Marathon and 5K: April 24th from 7am to 12pm

I realize that both of these events take place during the April vacation break. Not all club members will be able to attend but I encouraged all to participate in some way whether by baking something or volunteering for a couple of hours!

There will be post-event summaries to follow up on what occurred and gauge our success. I am especially excited for the Cheshire Half DRE because two years ago I attended the race and recruited the most donors from that single day as compared to other events I’ve been to!

As for May, it will be another busy month for students with exams, and preparation for finals. However, I expect to have another meeting with a club activity. May is also the month when Relay for Life takes place, and this may conflict with our club goals. I am trying to squeeze in another DRE in May, and if that doesn’t happen, I will try for June!

I am thinking about about holding a walk to raise money for Be The Match after the little success we had to passing the plan for holding a race. The logistics are similar but operating a walk should be less worrisome when there won’t be any worrying to do with the runners’ insurance and possible accidents. This is still in the works! The possibility of getting this plan passed by administration is difficult because the school does not want to get mixed up in our business if we fail to execute the walk correctly. To view this optimistically, there is another option of changing the location to avoid the administration hassle. I’ve contacted the New Haven Lighthouse Park director who mentions there are forms that need to be filled out but the application process is not as intensive as the school board’s. Of course, this idea needs to be brought to the club first to see if there is any support to back up the proposal. Once the initial review is completed, I will keep you all up to date with fundraiser walk! If anyone has had prior experience, please contact me at giveaspit@gmail.com. I appreciate your time for reading!

 

Lillian Zhang

Leave a comment